York Region

Law Association

Newmarket OCJ Update May 25, 2020

25 May 2020 11:01 AM | York Region Law Association (Administrator)

New OCJ Remand Protocol Effective May 25, 2020

The Ontario Court of Justice has released a new remand Protocol effective today.  Essentially, matters will continue to be adjourned 10 weeks from the current date.

The protocol applies to current court dates between May 25, 2020 and July 3, 2020.  I have attached a link to the directive:

https://www.ontariocourts.ca/ocj/covid-19/criminal-list-adjournment/

Taking Of DNA Samples

York Regional Police, Operations and Administration has established a mechanism for the taking of court ordered DNA samples during the time of the closure of the Newmarket Courthouse. A temporary location has been set up at 50 Eagle Street permitting the taking of court ordered DNA samples without bringing the public into the main building area. The room for taking samples is located south of the front doors near the Family Law Information Centre.  The location has its own entrance and is completely closed off from the remainder of the building.

 It is recommended that sentences with DNA orders be made for the following day at 50 Eagle Street at 10:00 a.m.  Police will have ident processors available.  The goal is to reduce the backlog anticipated when courts return to normal operations.

Crown Assignments Week of May 25, 2020

Here are the assistant crown attorney assignments for this week. Please be aware that the resolution/duty crown also addresses domestic matters.

Monday May 25

202P - Tony Tony.VandenEnde@ontario.ca

200 Court (judge) – Michelle Michelle.Rumble@ontario.ca

201 Court (judge) – Michael Demczur Michael.Demczur@ontario.ca

103 Bails - Greg Greg.J.Elder@ontario.ca

104 Bails – Jeff Jeffrey.Costain1@ontario.ca

Bail Vettors – LeeAnne LeeAnne.McCallum@ontario.ca

 Elissa Elissa.Kulpers@ontario.ca

Remote Duty Crown – Gemma gemma.sang@ontario.ca 

Tuesday May 26

202P – RDC Robert.DeChellis@ontario.ca

200 Court (judge) – Thompson Thompson.Hamilton@ontario.ca

201 Court (judge) – Jacob Jacob.Wilson@ontario.ca

103 Bails - Tony Tony.VandenEnde@ontario.ca

104 Bails – Martin Martin.Dionne@ontario.ca

Bail Vettors – LeeAnne LeeAnne.McCallum@ontario.ca

Elissa Elissa.Kulpers@ontario.ca

Remote Duty Crown – Gemma gemma.sang@ontario.ca

Wednesday May 27

202P - Brad Bradley.Juriansz@ontario.ca

200 Court (judge) – Samantha Samantha.Peterson2@ontario.ca

201 Court (judge) – Erin Erin.Rizok2@ontario.ca

103 Bails – Tony Tony.VandenEnde@ontario.ca

104 Bails – Neil Anil.Singh2@ontario.ca

Bail Vettors –  LeeAnne LeeAnne.McCallum@ontario.ca

 Sham Shambavi.Kumaresan@ontario.ca

Remote Duty Crown – Kevin Kevin.Stewart@ontario.caThursday May 28

202P - RDC Robert.DeChellis@ontario.ca

200 Court (judge) – Melissa Melissa.Henry@ontario.ca

201 Court (judge) – Brian Brian.McCallion@ontario.ca

103 Bails - Tony Tony.VandenEnde@ontario.ca

104 Bails – Jacob Jacob.Wilson@ontario.ca

Bail Vettors – LeeAnne LeeAnne.McCallum@ontario.ca

Elissa Elissa.Kulpers@ontario.ca

Remote Duty Crown – Amy Amy.Barkin@ontario.ca

Friday May 29

202P - Tony Tony.VandenEnde@ontario.ca

200 Court (judge) – Philip Philip.Hsiung@ontario.ca

201 Court (judge) – Vanessa VANESSA.SZIRMAK@ontario.ca

103 Bails – Michael Ventola Michael.Ventola@ontario.ca

104 Bails – Ivana Ivana.Denisov@ontario.ca

Bail Vettors – Sham Shambavi.Kumaresan@ontario.ca

 Elissa Elissa.Kulpers@ontario.ca

Remote Duty Crown – Lesley Lesley.Pasquino@ontario.ca

Sincerely,

Norman Panzica, York Director, Criminal Lawyers Association

York Region Law Association  50 Eagle St W, 3rd Floor Newmarket ON  L3Y 6B1  905-895-2018 / 1-866-221-8864

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software